Adventure Creator original thread

Tips, techniques and tutorials about creation tools.

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Fri, 15Feb13 02:56

I just uploaded AC6.0 also known as "The BEW edition." (-:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/six8f ... reator.zip

For the most part, the changes are there to support the development of Wolf's game. I don't expect many people to make use of all the new div sections and hooks, but they're there if you want them. The one feature that is universal is you can now filter GameView to show only pages with broken links.

You need to update the exe, the template, and _functions.js. The files it creates are incompatible with AC5, so you need to do some conversion before you work with it. There's a "Converting to AdventureCreator 6" document in the distribution that explains what you need to do, but briefly:
0) Make a backup of your game, just in case.
1) Replace your AdventureCreator.exe and AdventureCreator_template.txt with the new ones.
2) Replace your _functions.js with the one in the examples.
3) Open your _styles.css and find the line that looks like this:
.center
change it to
#center, #says
4) Open your game in AC6 and pull down File->Update All.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby Wolfschadowe » Fri, 15Feb13 15:55

Thanks Tlaero! I'm honored to have an Edition! ha!

This will be very helpful! Getting close....

Wolfschadowe
User avatar
Wolfschadowe
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu, 13Mar21 07:37
Location: West Coast, USA
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby Wolfschadowe » Fri, 15Feb13 16:17

Hey Tlaero,

It looks like the new link for 6.0 may actually be pointing to 5.7. I tried both the 5.7 and 6.0 links, and they both gave me version 5.7.

Wolfschadowe
User avatar
Wolfschadowe
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu, 13Mar21 07:37
Location: West Coast, USA
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Fri, 15Feb13 17:20

Oops, when I uploaded to MediaFire, I accidentally said, "Keep Both" instead of "Replace." So there was an AdventureCreator(2).zip there. It should be fixed now.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby Wolfschadowe » Fri, 15Feb13 18:23

Confirmed, and working great! I love the broken links feature!

Thanks again Tlaero!
User avatar
Wolfschadowe
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu, 13Mar21 07:37
Location: West Coast, USA
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Sun, 15Feb22 07:10

I just uploaded 6.1. http://www.mediafire.com/download/six8f ... reator.zip

I fixed a bad bug where using the subfolder functionality from 5.6 didn't work on unix.

I also added the ability to add [[bracket]] code to hit targets. This requires that you update to the new _functions.js and requires a change in the functions you call in [[]]. Toptext and says need to document.write where hit targets need to return the string. See the "Name()" function in the example's _game.js for an example of how to do this.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby BlueJoe » Mon, 15Mar30 15:27

Hi Tlaero,
I'm trying to create a game with your Adventure Creator v6.1. It's really a good and easy way to create it.
While checking the functions in _functions.js, I think i found a bug.
The function varPlusIf0 works same like varPlus1If0, cause the variable (amount) is missing.

I think it have to be changed like this (in red the changes i suggest):

function varPlusIf0(name, checkName, amount)
{
if (typeof (amount) == "undefined")
{
amount = 1;
}
var val = readVar(name);
var check = readVar(checkName);
if (check == 0)
{
val += amount;
setVar(name, val);
}
}

BlueJoe
BlueJoe
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon, 15Mar30 14:56
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Wed, 15Apr01 03:02

That does look like a bug, BlueJoe. Thanks for reporting it. I'll fix it in the next drop.

I'm glad AC is working for you. I'm looking forward to your game.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby BlueJoe » Wed, 15Apr01 18:45

Hi Tlaero,
I'm testing my game and with Firefox it's working well, but with Internet Explorer the "Map Area" and the variables settings (add and sub) don't work.
I thought, maybe JavaScript isn't enabled, but it is. I tried too an older version of AC, and it works fine with IE.
Maybe some bug in function AddArea?


BlueJoe


I try to debug the source and now it give me runtime error in line 1001 of _functions.js, that's this line:
sheet.innerHTML = "." + areaID + " { " + style + " }; ";
Last edited by BlueJoe on Wed, 15Apr01 20:09, edited 1 time in total.
BlueJoe
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon, 15Mar30 14:56
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby kexter » Wed, 15Apr01 20:03

BlueJoe wrote:I'm testing my game and with Firefox it's working well, but with Internet Explorer the "Map Area" and the variables settings (add and sub) don't work.
What version of IE?
@kextercius
User avatar
kexter
Moderator
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun, 13Dec29 11:01
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby BlueJoe » Wed, 15Apr01 21:24

kexter wrote:What version of IE?


thanks for the hint. I had IE 10, I just upgrade on IE 11 and now it works fine.

BlueJoe
BlueJoe
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon, 15Mar30 14:56
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby BlueJoe » Thu, 15Apr02 14:26

How can I declare a string variable to use in a game?

BlueJoe
BlueJoe
Pilot fish
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon, 15Mar30 14:56
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Fri, 15Apr03 06:29

He BlueJoe. There's an example of using a string variable in the example folder. Open _game.js and search for "name".

In short, though, you add a variable to gameVars, set it with setVar, and read it with readString.

If that's not clear, let me know and I'll give examples.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby Super » Fri, 15Apr03 14:28

Would you need to use <> to display it in the text box?
Super
legend of the South Seas
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Wed, 11Aug24 20:59
sex: Masculine

Re: Adventure Creator main thread

Postby tlaero » Sat, 15Apr04 01:13

Do you mean [[ ]]?

Yes, same as any other variable.

Tlaero
User avatar
tlaero
Lady Tlaero, games and coding expert
 
Posts: 1829
Joined: Thu, 09Jun04 23:00
sex: Female

PreviousNext

Return to The workshop of creators

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

eXTReMe Tracker